50 Free Genealogy Sites

Posted By Family History Daily, February 19, 2015

1. FamilySearch: largest collection of free genealogical records in the world

2. WikiTree: enormous collaborative family tree

3. Fulton History: historical newspapers from the US and Canada

4. Find a Grave: locate your ancestors in cemeteries across the globe

5. Google News Archive: millions of archived newspaper pages

6. US National Archives: official US National Archives site, many free genealogy databases and resources

7. Automated Genealogy: indexes of the Canadian census

8. FreeBMD: civil registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales

9. USGenWeb Project: massive free genealogy resource directory by US state and county

10. WorldGenWeb Project: genealogy resources by country and region, not to miss

11. Cyndi’s List: highly respected directory of free genealogy resources and databases online

12. Library and Archives Canada: official archives of Canada, census records and more

13. Ellis Island: immigration records, free indexes and original records, fee to download copies

14. FreeReg: baptism, marriage, and burial records from parish registers of the UK

15. Crestleaf: various genealogy records

16. RootsWeb: world’s largest genealogy community, huge amount of free information

17. Castle Garden: immigration records, pre Ellis Island

18. Chronicling America: giant database of archived US newspapers from the Library of Congress

19. Dead Fred: genealogy photo archive

20. African Heritage Project: records on former slaves, freedpersons and their descendants

21. Family Tree Now: various genealogy records

22. Daughters of the American Revolution: military service records and more

23. JewishGen: Jewish ancestry research

24. FreeCEN: transcribed census records from the UK

25. Access Genealogy: vast family history directories and more, good Native American resources

26. British Library, India Office: records on British and European people in India pre 1950

27. Guild of One Name Studies: extensive surname research site

28. Geneabloggers: massive directory of genealogy related blogs with a huge amount of free information

29. NativeWeb Genealogy: list of Native American genealogy resources and searchable databases

30. Viximus: member submitted biographical information

31. WieWasWie: for researching ancestors from the Netherlands (in Dutch)

32. UK National Archives: official National Archives of the UK

33. The National Archives of Ireland: official National Archives of Ireland

34. GENUKI: reference library of genealogical resources for the UK and Ireland

35. German Genealogy Server: German ancestry research (many sections in German)

36. Preserve the Pensions: War of 1812 pension records access

37. Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System: Civil War records from the National Park Service

38. LitvakSIG: Lithuanian-Jewish genealogy databases and resources

39. Italian Genealogical Group: Italian American genealogy resources and databases

40. Internet Archive: a large amount of information useful to genealogists, but you’ll need to do some digging

41. Billion Graves: headstone records

42. Open Library: good place to find family history books, search for surnames or locations

43. GenDisasters: for researching disasters and other events your ancestors might have been involved in

44. RomanyGenes: Romanichal ancestry research

45. Patriot and Grave Index: revolutionary war graves registry and patriot index from the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution

46. Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection: vast number of archived US newspapers

47. Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Database: hundreds of thousands of obituary entries

48. Slδktdata: genealogy records for Sweden (in Swedish)

49. Hispanic Genealogy: wonderful list of resources for researching Hispanic ancestry

50: Free Genealogy Search Engine: search hundreds of free genealogy resources at one time on Family History Daily


Research Websites

Posted by Sandi Gorin - South Central Kentucky Mailing List, March 12, 2015 (Posted with Permission)
There are many websites where you can search for data for United States records. I am listing the
top sites and indicating if they are for a cost or for free. Most of these I have tried myself. These are ranked in order. Thanks to
GenealogyInTimeMagazine.com for the compilation of this list.

1 – ancestry.com: records of all categories, Pay. <http://www.ancestry.com>

2 – Family search: records of all categories. Free. <http://www.familysearch.org>www.familysearch.org

3 – Find A Grave: Cemetery records that have been submitted. Free. <http://www.findagrave.com>www.findagrave.com

4 – MyHeritage.com: Family trees. Pay.<http://www.myheritage.com>www.myheritage.com

5 – Geni.com: Family trees. Pay. www.geni.com

6 – Genealogy.com: Records of all categories. Pay. <http://www.genealogy.com>www.genealogy.com

7 – Newspapers.com: Old newspapers. Pay. <http://www.newspapers.com>www.newspapers.com

8 – Archives.com. Records of all categories. Pay. <http://www.archives.com>www.archives.com

9 – Family Tree DNA. DNA testing. Pay. <http://www.familytreedna.com>www.familytreedna.com

10 – Wiki Tree. Family trees. Free. <http://www.wikitree.com>www.wikitree.com

11 – Genealogy Bank. Old newspapers. Pay. <http://www.genealogybank.com>www.genealogybank.com

12 – Ancient Faces. Forum. Free. <http://www.ancientfaces.com>www.ancientfaces.com

13 – Cyndi’s List. Links to thousands of sites. Free. <http://www.cyndislist.com>www.cyndislist.com

14 – Mocavo. Search engine. Pay. <http://www.mocavo.com>www.mocavo.com

15 – Fold3. Military records. Pay. <http://www.fold3.com>www.fold3.com

16 – Newspaper Archive. Old newspapers. Pay. <http://www.newspaperarchive.com>www.newspaperarchive.com

17 – USGenWebArchives. Records. Free. http:/Usgwarchives.net

18 – Eastman’s Genealogy Newsletter. Blog. Free. <http://blog.eogn.com>http://blog.eogn.com

19 – GEDmatch. DNA testing. Free. <http://gedmatch.com>http://gedmatch.com

20 – FindMyPast.com. Records. Pay. <http://www.findmypast.com>www.findmypast.com

21 – JewishGen. Ethnic heritage. Free. <http://www.jewishgen.org>www.jewishgen.org

22 – Billion Graves. Cemetery records. Free. <http://billiongraves.com>http://billiongraves.com

23 – Genealogy Today. Records. Pay. <http://genealogytoday.com>http://genealogytoday.com

24 – World Vital Records. Records. Pay. <http://www.worldvitalrecords.com>www.worldvitalrecords.com

25 – American Ancestors. Society. Pay. <http://www.americanancestors.org>www.americanancestors.org

26 – Family Tree Magazine. Magazine. Pay. <http://www.familytreemagazine.com>www.familytreemagazine.com

27 – MyTrees – Family trees. Pay. <http://www.mytrees.com>www.mytrees.com

28 – Daughters American Revolution: Society. Pay. <http://dar.org>http://dar.org

29 – Genealogy About.com. Articles. Free. http:/genealogy.about.com

30 – Tribal Pages. Family trees. Pay. <http://tribalpages.com>http://tribalpages.com

31 – Genealogy Trails. Records. Free. <http://genealogytrails.com>http://genealogytrails.com

32 – Steve Morse. Search engine. Free. <http://stevemorse.org>http://stevemorse.org

33 – Legacy Family Tree. Software. Pay. <http://www.legacyfamilytree.com>www.legacyfamilytree.com

34 – FamilyTreeNow. Family trees. Free. <http://www.familytreenow.com>www.familytreenow.com

35 – Fulton History. Newspapers. Free. <http://fultonhistory.com>http://fultonhistory.com

36 – ProGenealogists. Services. Pay. <http://www.progtenealogists.com>www.progtenealogists.com

37 – Family Link: Records. Pay. <http://www.familylink.com>www.familylink.com

38 – Crestleaf: Family trees. Free. <http://crestleaf.com>http://crestleaf.com

39 – Access Genealogy. Search engine. Free. <http://www.ancessgenealogy.com>www.ancessgenealogy.com

40 – RootsMagic. Software. Pay. <http://www.rootsmagic.com>www.rootsmagic.com

41 – Interment. Cemetery. Free. <http://interment.net>http://interment.net

42 – We Relate: Wiki. Free. <http://www.werelate.org>www.werelate.org

43 – Death Indexes: Links. Free. <http://www.deathindexes.com>www.deathindexes.com

44 – sysoon: Cemetery. Free. <http://www.sysoon.com>www.sysoon.com

45 – Family Tree Webinars. Magazine. Pay. <http://www.familytreewebinars.com>www.familytreewebinars.com

46 – The Legal Genealogist. Blog. Free. <http://www.legalgenealogist.com>www.legalgenealogist.com

47 – Geneabloggers: Blog. Free. <http://www.geneabloggers.com>www.geneabloggers.com

48 – myrelatives.com: records. Pay. <http://www.myrelatives.com>www.myrelatives.com

49 – Heritage Quest Online: Records. Pay. <http://www.heritagequestonline.com>www.heritagequestonline.com

50 – Historic Mapworks: Records. Pay. <http://www.historicmapworks.com>www.historicmapworks.com

51 – Family Tree Maker. Software. Pay. <http://familytreemaker.com>http://familytreemaker.com

52 – ObituariesHelp.org: Links. Free. <http://www.obituarieshelp.org>www.obituarieshelp.org