The seventy-second county in order of formation, Calloway County is located in western Kentucky on the Tennessee state line. The county has an area of 386 square miles. Formed on November 3, 1822, from a section of Hickman County, the county was named in honor of Col. Richard Calloway, a Kentucky explorer and pioneer who was a friend of Daniel Boone. Murray is the county seat.

The County is bordered by Marshall County (north), Trigg County (northeast), Stewart County, TN (southeast), Henry County, TN (south), Graves County (west). Cities, Towns and Communities include Hazel, Murray

The Chickasaw Indians ceded their lands in western Kentucky under an 1818 federal treaty. Early pioneers included Samuel Watson, David Jones, and James Stewart. The first permanent settlement was built in 1820 by Banester Wade and called Wadesboro, which served as the county seat from 1822 to 1842. In 1842 Marshall County was created out of Calloway. In the 1840s, some residents moved westward into Missouri and beyond. Calloway County residents were strongly sympathetic to the Southern cause during the Civil War. About eight hundred joined the Confederate army, about two hundred the Union forces.
*Above info from:

To Check the Kentucky Death Index 1911-2000, click here!

Contents maintained by
Jeff Kemp:
Calloway County Coordinator
Sherri Bradley: State Coordinator
Suzanne Shephard: Assistant State Coordinator

Jeff Kemp:
Assistant State Coordinator

ęCopyright KYGenWeb 2018, All rights reserved.
Last Edited 02/01/18