Clinton County Officials, 1936-1986

From THE ALBANY-CLINTON COUNTY SESQUICENTENNIAL CELEBRATION, 1836-1986, published in the Mountain Echo and transcribed and submitted by Lisa Haug.

Clinton County Election Nov. 3, 1937
Took office Jan. 3, 1938

Judge–Everett Jones
Sheriff--J.A. Allen
Jailer--W.P. Craig
County Attorney--J.G. Smith
County court Clerk--Logan Frost
Tax Commissioner--N.L. Cross
Surveyor--W.H. Gibson
Coroner--J.M. Crabtree
District 1--Ben Dalton
District 2--J.G. Davidson
District 3--Porter Guffey
District 4--W.L. Agee
District 5--W.R. Honeycutt
1936 Circuit Court Clerk--J.O. Dicken(served six years)
Circuit Judge--J.S. Sandusky
Albany Board of Trustees:
J.F. Pierce, J.H. Dyer, J.B. Wade, E.A. Barnes, R.V. Higginbottom
Police Judge--Leonard Bernard

1941 Election-Nov. 4, 1941

Judge--Perry Smith
Sheriff--Bruce Sloan
Jailer--Porter L. Guinn
County Attorney--J.G. Smith
County Court Clerk--Odell Cummings
Tax Commissioner--Noah Cross
Surveyor--R.H. Gibson
Coroner--J.M. Crabtree
District 1--B.H. Dalton; District 2--Richard Rednour; District 3– O.W. Marcum; District 4--E.V. Albertson; District 5--C.H. Pittman
Albany Board of Trustees:
E. A. Barnes, R. V. Higginbottom, J. B. Wade

County Judge:
1945-R.S. Edwards; 1949--Jesse Pierce; 1953--C.M. (Clarence) Beaty; 1955-W.P. (Bill) Craig; 1957--W.P. (Bill) Craig; 1961--Earl Huddleston; 1965--Edward Taylor; 1969--Joe Cerrato; 1973--Delmer Marcum; 1977--Donnie McWhorter; 1981--Donnie Poore; 1985--Donnie McWhorter.

1945--Jessie Pierce, C.C. Braswell, Porter Coffey, Travis Groce, Guy Cross.
1949--Ed Witham, C.C. Braswell, C.B. Davis, Travis Groce, Guy Cross.
1953--Luther Harlan, George Bandy, D. C. Huddleston, Travis Groce, Royce Scott.
1957--Luther Harlan, Bill Byers, G.G. McWhorter, O.J. Craft, Royce Scott.
1961--James K. Wisdom, Leo Edwards, Thomas J. Davis, Eugene Piercy, Baker Wood.
1965--Ivan Sloan, Leo Edwards, Charlie Tallent, Eugene Piercy, Guy Cross.
1969--John Sloan, Leo Edwards, Charlie Tallent, Eugene Piercy, Guy Cross.
1973--John Sloan, Bill Byers, Charlie Tallent, Eugene Piercy, Billy Wallace.
1977–John Sloan, Bill Byers, A. V. Conner, Marvin Hay, Guy Cross.
1981--John Sloan, Donnie Massengale, Danny McFall, Marvin Hay, Homer Lowhorn.
1985--Jay Stockton, Howard Marcum, Gary Tallent, Ralph Albertson, Homer Lowhorn.

1945--James B. Smith; 1948--W.P. “Bill” Craig; 1949--John Sawyers; 1953– Charlie Long; 1957--Earl Huddleston; 1961--Johnny Cummings; 1965--Joe Cerrato; 1969--Gordon Speck; 1973--Johnny Cummings; 1977--Raymond Shelton; 1981--Gordon Speck; 1985--Gordon Speck.

County Attorney:
1945--James A. Hicks; 1949--James A. Hicks; 1953– John A. Sloan; 1957--John A. Sloan; 1961--John A. Sloan; 1965--Eddie Lovelace; 1969--John Sloan; 1970--Luther C. Conner Jr.; 1973–Luther C. Conner Jr.; 1977--David R. Choate; 1981--David R. Choate; 1985--James M. (Mike) Lawson..

County Court Clerk:
1945--Odell Cummings; 1949--Odell Cummings: 1953--Robert Reneau; 1957--Robert Reneau; 1961--Robert Reneau; 1965--Robert Reneau; 1969--Robert Reneau; 1973--Robert Reneau; 1977--Robert Reneau; 1981--Lloyd Stockton; 1985--Lloyd Stockton.

Circuit Court Clerk:
1945--John Omer Dicken; 1951--J.O. Dicken; 1957--O.C. Delk; 1961--Debbie Delk; 1963--Debbie Delk; 1969--Edwin Campbell; 1975--Edwin Campbell; 1980--Clement Shelley; 1981--Ralph Groce.

Tax Commissioner:
1945--George H. Ferguson; 1947--Horace Hay; 1949--N.L. Cross; 1953--Otis Jarvis; 1957--Otis Jarvis; 1961--Otis Jarvis; 1965--Otis Jarvis; 1969--Otis Jarvis; 1973–Walton R. Haddix.

Changed to Property Valuation Administrator:
1977--Billy Joe Coop; 1981--Billy Joe Coop; 1985--Billy Joe Coop.

1945--Willie Branham; 1946--Cord Cummings; 1947--Howard Boles; 1949--Howard Boles; 1953--John B. Smith; 1957--Charles Huff; 1961--Kendrick Riddle; 1965--Kendrick Riddle; 1969--Lee Wallace; 1973--Gene Ferrill; 1977--Theda Riddle; 1981--Theda Riddle; 1985--J.D. Cooksey.

1945--W.W. Rector; 1948--Hansford Sloan; 1949--Hansford Sloan; 1953--Dr. S. W. Bristow; 1954--Sherman Appleby; 1957--James L. Lawson; 1961--Hulen Smith; 1969--Darrell Speck; 1973--Darrell Speck; 1977--Darrell Speck; 1981--Donald R. Shelton: 1985--Weldon Haddix.

to Clinton County

Site Map

Home || What's New || Research Hints & Helps || Photo Gallery
Tribute to Our Veterans

Bible Records || Birth Records || Death Records || Marriage Records || School Records
Cemetery Records || Census Records || Land Records || Maps
Military Records || Biographical Sketches || Wills

Volunteer Lookups || Reference Books || Surname Registry
Researcher Homepages|| Clinton County Newspapers || This 'N That

Brick Wall Ancestors || Clinton County US GenWeb Archives || KY GenWeb

You are visitor since Dec. 14, 2001
Please come back soon!

Problems or bad links should be reported to the webmaster.

©Copyright 2001-2015 by Sherri Bradley All files on this website are copyrighted by their submitter and creator. They may be linked to, but may not be reproduced on another website or in any other form, without specific permission of the submitter, owner, publisher and this site moderator. Although public records are as such not copyrightable, the manner in which they are presented, including the notes, comments, etc. are. The information on this site is provided free of charge, by volunteers, for your personal use only.