Saturday 27th January 1849 - The church met and after Wroship proceeded to business to Wit:
The Committee appointed to Select a Cite for a new meeting house presented a report Which Was adopted to Wit
| The Committee appointed to Select a site to build a meeting house on by have to Report That they have had the Subject under Consideration and Would respectfully Recommend the church to repair the old house as the church owns the land on Which it stands as long as She retains the principals on Which She was Constituted.
We trust we Shall not be transcending our duty to recommend the following plan for repairing the house (to Wit) a new Roof to put Joists in it and Ceil under them With plank to remove the pulpit in the north end of the house and Cut a Window to give it light and close the door next the road and have a Window in lieu of it all of which is respectrfully Submitted
27 January 1849
William D. Littlejohn
Saturday 27th January 1849 (Continued)
Brethren Rily Routt, Levi Walter and William A. Littlejohn were appointed building commissioners to Superintend Repairing the meeting house.
A motion Was made to appoint two deacons which Was agreed to, and then refered untill next meeting.
Brethren Rilly Routt and William A. Littlejohn Were appointed to prepare Subscriptions and Solicit aid for repairing the Meeting house.
Saturday February 1849 - The church met and after Worship took up the reference Concerning the choice of deacons but owing to the Small number present Refered it untill next meeting.
Saturday 24 March 1849 - The church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
the reference Concerning the Choice of deacons Was taken up and postponed untill our meeting in the month of May On motion resolved that hereafter We be known as the North fork baptist church of Jesus christ
Saturday April 1849 - The church met and after Worship adjourned
Saturday 26th May 1849 - The church met and after Worship a door Was opened When Brother James Hampton Came forward and Was Received by Relation he having Related his experience and hopes of Salvation was received in full fellowship. Also his companion Sister Lucy Hampton presented a Letter of dissmission from the baptist church at Rockbridge Bourbon Cty Which Was read and received and they both received the right hand of fellowship.
The church by a unanimous vote caled Bro German to preach for us
Sunday morning 24th June 1849 - The chruch did not meet on Saturday in Consequence of the members being engaged Securing their harvest.
On Sunday morning they assembled and appointed Brethren Wm H. Littlejohn, Adam Downard and Levi Walter to prepare a letter for the Association and report to the next meeting.
Saturday 28 July 1849 - The Church met and appointed Bro. Elijah Jett Modr, pro tem, then proceeded to business to Wit:
The Committee appointed to prepare a letter for the association reported one Which Was read and adopted and brethren Rily Routt, W.H. Littlejohn and L. Walter agreed to bear it to indean Creek the 4th Saturday in August inst
The Reference concerning the choice of decons postponed untill next meeting.
No meeting in August the association being in Session
Saturday 22 Sept 1849 - The church met according to appointment and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
1st - a door oppened for the reception of members
2nd - The Reference caled for concerning deacons Refered till next meeting
Saturday 27 October 1849 - The Church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
The Reference Concerning deacons Was taken up and a ballot Was taken and it Resulted in the choice of Brethren Rily Routt and Lewis H. Thomas
Brother Thomas Owings (Who Seceded from the church at Willow Creek Some years Since With a people caling themselves reformers applied for admission into this Church and Was received.
It Was moved by Brother Littlejohn and Seconded to Reconsider the Vote appointing a Committee to Select a Site to build a meeting on, and it was carried in the affirmative
A Committee Consisting of brethren Walter Thomas, RIley Routt, A. Downard and Littlejohn Were appointed to Select a Site to build a Meeting house on and report to next meeting.
Saturday November 24, 1849 - The Church met and after Worship proceded to Business to Wit:
The Committee appointed to Select a Cite to build A meeting house on made the following Report to Wit:
The Committee appointed to Select a Site to build a meeting house On by leave to report that they have performed the duty assigned them (Brother Downard not present) and examined Some three different Sites.
The first is on the topof the hill on the road to Willow Creek meeting house on the land of Mr. Breese.
The Situation is beautifull, lies high and Will be Clear of mud.
The second Site is on the lot Where the Meeting house Stands and Well known to the Church.
The third Site is adjoining the Milford Seminary lot in Brother Routts pasture.
a Majority of the Committee were favor of the first Site named
Saturday November 24th 1849 (Continued)
We believe that each place is a good Situation and a house built at either place will accomodate the Church
all Which is respectfully Submitted
Lewis H. Thomas
The Report Was read and adopted and the Church Agreed to build a hous of Worship on the Site Selected on the land owned by Mr. Breese. With the distinct understanding that it is to be for the use of Northfork baptist church of Jesus Christ and they Only Brethren Lewis H. Thomas, William H. Littlejohn, Rily Routt, Daniel D. Moss and Levi Walter Were appointed trustees to take charge of the property belonging to the church and do all other business enjoined on them by law and also to Contract With Mr Breese for the land to build a house of Worship on Ordered that brother Walter be directed to prepare Subscriptions to raise funds to build our meeting house and Brother Rily Routt and Brother Lewis H. Thomas take charge of them and endeavor to rais funds
No meeting in December
Saturday January 1850 - The church met and after Worship Chose Brother Jett Moderator after Worship adgourned.
Saturday 23d February 1850 - a motion Was made to reconsider the appointing of trustees made at November meeting (Which appointment Was made by nomination. the laww requires them to be appointed by the church) and was Carried
a ballot Was then taken and Levi Walter, Adam Downard, William H. Littlejohn, James Hampton and Rily Routt were Chosen and then adjourned.
4 Saturday in March 1850 - Church met and after Worship proceeded to business
1st - invited Visiting brethren to Seats
2nd - Inquiry after the peace of the church
3rd - the References Caled for
4th - a door opened for the reception of members.
Saturday 27th April 1850 - The church met and after Worship adjourned.
Saturday 27th April 1850 - The church met and after Worship adjourned.
Saturday 25th May 1850 - The church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
Sister Serena Lettlejohn, Sister Elizabeth A. Craig and Sister Issabella Balles Was Received by letter.
a letter of Dissmission Was granted to Sister armilda Smally.
The Clerk Was directed to inform the Church at Minerva of the Reception of Sisters Craig and Ballis Whome they have dismissed.
The Church agreed to Commune tomorrow at four O Clock P.M.
Monday 11: O clock
Sister Zerelda Hampton Was received by experience for Baptism
3 O Clock
Brother Whitfield, T. Craig was received by letter form the Bracken church
Sister Malinda R. Walter was received by experience for baptism
Saturday 22 June 1850 - THe church met and after Worship proc to business to Wit:
Brother Harrison Miller and his Companion Sister Delila Miller presented a letter of dismission from the Church at Goshen, Clark County, Ky which was received and the bearers received the right hand of fellowship as members of this church
The CHurch by a unanimous Vote Requested borther German to preach for us for one year
Brethren Adam Downard and L Walter Were appointed to Write a letter to be Sent to the Association and present it at next meeting for the approval of the church.
Saturday 27 July 1850 - The church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
Brother Walter presented a letter to be Sent to the association Which Was read and received and Wm. H. Littlejohn was appointed by ballot to bear the Same to the Association Where Met at Beaver creek on the fourth Saturday in August ultimo
and then adjourned
No meeting in August the association being in session
Saturday 28th September 1850 - The church met and after Worship (a Sermon by Brother Elrod) proceded to business to Wit:
On Motion Brethren Rily Routt, William H. Littlejohn and Whitfield, T. Craig was apponted to Wait on brother D.D. Moss and urge him to return to his duty and fill his Seat in the Church
and then adjourned.
Saturday 26th October 1850 - The church met and after Worship proceeded to business
The Committee appointed to Wait on bro. D. D. Moss reported the Brother present and are discharged.
The brother expressed regret for his long absence and the Church Voted unanimously that they Were satsified
With his explanation The Clerk Was directed to write to the board of the general association to inform them that We Wish brother German Services for another and brethren A. Downard and R. Routt are associated with Him (the Clerk)
Sabbath 27th - Brother Robert McCoy Was received by letter from the church at Bracken Minerva
Saturday 9th November 1850 - The church met on this day Owing to a charge of days being made to Suit our Sister church at richland and proceeded to business to Wit: On Motion, agreed that the chruch Celebrate the Supper or Communion three times a year and that we commune at our April meeting 1851.
Saturday 18 December 1850 - The chruch met and after A Sermon by Brother Henry Bell adjourned.
Saturday 25 January 1851 - The church met and after a Sermon by Brother German proceded to business to Wit,
The time of our meeting Was changed from the fourth Saturday and Sabbath in each month to the Second Saturday and Sabbath.
The church did not meet in February 1851
Saturday 19th April 1851 - The chruch met and after a sermon by brother Robert Vicars
Saturday 17 May 1851 - The Chruch met and after a Sermon by brother A.W. Larue proceeded to business to Wit: A motion and Second that we Set apart our decons ty Solemn ordination Which was agreed to and then adjourned.
Saturday 21st June 1851 - The church met and after Sermon by Brother F. German, adjourned.
Saturday, 19 Jul 1851 - The church met and afrr a Sermon by borther N. Laughlin proceeded to business to Wit:
Brethren Rily ROutt and Levi Walter was appointed ot Write a letter for the Association to be held at richland meeting house on teh fourth Saturday in next month and present it at next meeting and Breathren Levi Walter, RilyRoutt, Wm. H. Littlejohn, Harrison Netter and Lewis H. Thomas was appointed messangers to bear the Same
and then adjourned.
Saturday 16 August 1851 - The church met and after a Sermon by Brother John Allen proceeded to business to Wit:
Choose Levi Walter Moderator
The letter for the Association was presented by Brother Routt, read and unanimously adopted.
The church done no business untill May 1852
Saturday 15th May 1852 - The church met and after a Sermon by Brother Porter adjourned.
on Sabbath 16th May brother Henry C. porter presented a letter from the church at Casadies Creen including his Companion Sister Jane Porter Which was received and the brother received the right hand of fellowship
the Sister was not present
Saturday 19th June 1852 - The church met and after Worship a sermon by brother German porceeded to business to Wit
Brethren Rob McCoy and Levi Walter Were appointed to Wait on brother D.D. Moss and request him to attend Meetings.
The church agreed to meet on the Second Saturday in next month July.
Saturday 10 July 1852 - The church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
Sister porter being present received the right hand of fellowship.
L Walter from the Committee appointed to Wait on Brother Moss made report Which Was received and the Committee discharges (Brother McCoy did not act)
report: Brother Moss expressed regret at his absence and Wished to be at chruch Meetings but circumstances prevented.
The case Was continued
The Draft of the Constitution Which Was Sent us by the convention Which Was Sent us by the convention Which assembled at Richland meeting house instructed her delegates to the Association to vote for the new Constitution.
The church agreed to change her church Meetings to the Second Saturday in each Montha and Sabbath following Bro Rily Routt was appointed to Write a letter to the association to be held With the Church at Short creek on the fourth Saturday in August and to get any help he may wish
Saturday 13 August 1852 - The church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit:
The Reference Concerning Brother Moss Was continued
The letter to the association Was read and Received
The church agreed to be known by the name of a Untied baptist Church
Brethren Thomas, porter, Littlejohn, Rily Routt and Atwell Were appointed delegates to the Association
Saturday 11 September 1852 - The Church met and after Worship proceeded to business to Wit
John B. Smitson Was Received by experience for Baptist
Brother Moss being present Satisfied the church for his abence
Saturday 9th October 1852 - The church met and after a Sermon by bro Beagle proceeded to business to Wit:
Sister Elizabeth Smitson presented a letter of dissmission from the church at Willow creek Which Was read and Received and the Sister received the right hand of fellowship.
No meeting in November or December
Saturday December 8th 1853 - The church met and after a Sermon by brother German adjourned.
No business done in January
Saturday 12th February 1853 - The church met and after a Serman by brother porter adjourned.
Saturday 12 March 1853 - The church met and after Worship by Brother Jett proceeded to business
Bro Jett chosen moderator
On motion of brother Downard Seconded by brother R. Routt a Committee consisting to A Downard and Levi Walter Waas appointed to Wait on brethern Wm. H. Littlejohn and Wife and Lewis H. Thomas and wife and request them to attend the next meeing for the purpose of Settling a difficulty that is existing between them.
Saturday April 1853 - After a Sermon by brother German, Brother Craig Clerk pro tem proceeded to business.
opened a door for the reception of members
none came untill afterwards When Lucy Fowl came forward offered herself to the church and Was received for baptism
Brethren Littlejohn and Wife and bro Thomas and Wife came forward and agreed to let everything drop and gave each the hand of fellowship the church and the friends of the church
paid Bro German on the Subscription thirty two dollars
|| W Craig Clk pro tem
G German Mod
Saturday 14 May 1853 - The church met and after a Serman by Brother German adjourned
Saturday June 1853 - The church met and after a sermon by brother German proceeded to business to Wit:
The church by a vote requested brother Germans Services for one year from this time
Brethren owings and Mcoy Were appointed to Wait on brother D.D. Moss and try to reconcile him with Brother Thomas And to Satisfy the church for haivng used ascene language, in Saying that he Would See brother Thomas in hell before he Sheoud have his land
Saturday 9 July, 1853 - The CHurch met and after a Sermon by Brother German proceeded to business to Wit:
Brethren Owings & M Coy the Committee to Wait on brother Moss reported the brother refused to be reconciled to bro Thomas and Wished his name erased from our Records for Which Cause the church by a Unanimous Vote expelled him from her fellowship
Brethren Riley Routt and Lewis H. Thomas were appointed to prepare a letter for the Association to be held at Falmouth on the fourth Saturday in August and present it to the chruch at next meeting for inspection
and then adjourned
Saturday 13th August 1853 - The church met and after a Sermon by bro. german proceeded to business to Wit:
Brother Wm Owings and his Wife Sister Margrt Owings Were received by experience for Baptism
Brother Thomas H. Owings and his Wife Sister Hannah Owings presented a letter from the church at Bethleham Which Was received and the right hand of fellowship goven to the bearers
Brethren Routt & Thomas presented a letter for the Association Which Was received and brethren L Walter, L.H. Thomas, R.Routt, W.C. porter, W. Atwell and H. Miller agreed to bear it
The church Raised one dollar to pay for minutes
And then adjourned
Saturday September 10, 1853 - The church met and after a Sermon by Bro M. laughlin adjourned
Saturday October 8th 1853 - The chruch met and after a Sermon by Brother Mullins adjourned
The meeting continued October 10
On Monday Sister Mary Duncan returned her letter to the fellowship of the Church
Tuesday Oct 11 - Talletha Ann Browining, Frances Smally and sophia Moss Was received by experience for batism
- Elziabeth D. Best, Lucinda Atwell, Katherine Ann Atwell Were received by experience for Baptism
At night John R. Miller was received by Experience for Baptism
Wednesday - Brother Thornton Duncan returned his letter to the fellowship of the Church
Elias A. Duncan and Mary Frances Duncan Was received by Experience for Baptism
At Night - Samuel C. Smitson and John Maines Were received by experience for Baptism
Thursday - Sally Routt Was received by experience for Baptism
Evening - Missouri Downard, Sophia Downard and Eliza Ann Walter
were Received by experiance for Baptism
Friday Night - Sally Jane Walter Was Receved by Experience for Baptism
Saturday Morning - The church Set for the purpose of making arrangements about a meeting house to Worship in the present Winter
it Was agreed to repair the old house and Brethren Thornton Duncan, Rily Routt and William H. Littlejohn Was appointed a Committee to Superintend the Work under the Direction of the church
Willam Bolls and Alletha Issabella Walter Was received by experience for Baptism
Evening - peter L. Routt was received by experience for Baptims
At night, George Woods and Abner the servant of John Askin Was Received by experience for Baptism
Sunday - Jesse Warrick and Rebecca Worrick his Wife presented a letter from the Church at poplar Run Which Was Read and right hand of fellowship was given to the bearers.
Oct 17 -
Monday Morning Mary Mann Was Received by experience for Baptism
Evening Martha Ann Worrick Was receved by Experience for Baptism
Mary Downard Was restored to the fellowship of the church
At Night John Willis Routt Was Received by experience for Baptism
Saturday November 12th 1853 - The Church met and after a Sermon by Brother German proceeded to business to Wit:
The Willow Creek church through brother Ballinger requested a transcript of our records in relation to Robert Kings Standing and the Clerk is directed to furnish the Same When Called for
The church agred to raise funds by Subscription to build a meeting house and Brethren A. Downard, T. Duncan, P.L. Routt were appointed a Committee Select a Suitable place to build on and to Solicit funds and to determine the Size of the house and of What Materials
Brother John W. Routt agreed to take charge of the Meeting house to make fores keep the house clean and brethren T. Duncan and A. Downard agreed to furnsih each a load of Woof for the present winter and the Church is to pay for the Same also for Candles to light up the house
On Motion it Was agreed that We appoint Some person to Open meeting and preside as Moderator When necessary from the absence or inability of the regular Moderator
Saturday 10 December 1853 - The church met and after a Sermon by Bro Barbee proceeded to business to Wit:
A letter was received from the church at flag Spring announcing the good Standing of Brother A.C. M laughlin (he having been received at last meeting on Sabbath) Recommending him as a licensed preacher
The committee appointed at Last meeting to make arrangements for a new meeting house made a report accompanied by a Subscription Which Was received With a proviso that the Size of the house be hereafter determined.
Brethren Thornton Dunccan, Harrison Miller, Wm. H. Littlejohn, Rily Routt, Lewis H. Thomas were appointed building Commissioners to Superintend the building Solicit funds receive them disburse them, with power to add to their number
Ordered that We get a new book to transcribe our Records in from the may meeting of 1848 and Levi Walter, Rily Routt, Peter L. Routt Were appointed a committee to transcribe the records in the new book
Brethren Thornton Duncan, A. Downard, Wm. H. Littlejohn Was appointed to visit Brethren Buckley and know if they Wish to Continue in the Church as it is at present organized.
Sister Dorcas M. Laughlin presented a letter of Dismission from the Church at flag spring Which Was received and the Sister received the right hand of fellowship
Sunday Night Sister Elizabeth Regan was Receved by examination
Monday Night brother Squire Moran Was Receivved by experience for Baptism
Saturday January 14, 1854 - The Church met adn after a Sermon by brother German proceeded to business to Wit:
Brother Littlejohn from the Committee appointed at last meeting Reproted James W. Downard present Who Manifested Regret for his negligence and absence and the Church Was Satisfied and Brother Downard reproted that Sister Buckley Wished to attend With us but was prevented by unavoidable circumstances and the Church is Satsified.
The Church agreed to Change the place of building the Meeting house to a lot between the old Site and Millers Mill on the road
Saturday 11 February 1854 - The church met and after a Sermon by Brother German proceeded to business to Wit:
The committee appointed to transcribe the records of the church Sicne may meeting 1848 in a new book reported that they faild to act under the order as it was indefinite
the report received and the Committee discharged
Brethren L.H. Thomas, T. Duncan, P L Routt, Rily Routt & Squire Mann Were appointed a Committee to trasncribe the Records of the Church Since May meeting 1848 in a new book and report to next meeting
The Church agreed to erase the fourth article of the covenant adopted at the constitution in 1799 and the Committee are to transcribe the other articles in the new book.
Brethren Thornton Duncan, Rily Routt and William H. Littlejohn Was appointed trustees
A letter of dissmission Was granted to Levi Walter
A List of the members Names belonging to the North Fork Church
Sister Elizabeth Putman
John W. Routt
Mary Ellis by Letter
Rules of Decorum & Deciplin
||church Meeting To begin by Singing and prayr
||Brethren from Sister churches invited to seat with us
||a dore opened for the Reception of Members
||and no Member to leave his Seat with out the lave of the Moderator in time of Business
||no Brother Shall Speak More than Twist To one cause without Leave from the Church
||But one Member to Speak at the same time
||any Member Expressing him Self in anger Before the church Shall be deamd Disorder
(Rule No. 8 is missing, part of the page having been torn)
all prvate offences to be prceeded to according to the 185h chapter of St. Matthews Gospel
||any Member taken in to this church by Experience Letter or otherwise Shall be to the Satisfaction of the hole.
||all public offeces to have public and general Satisfaction
||any Member not complying with rules concerning church affairs, is to be Dealt with, But with tender affection to Restore them again
any mail member failling to till their sets Too Meetings in succession they Shall Come forward the 3rd & Give Sattesfaction failing So to do the Church shall act as She may see propper in Calling Such Members to her Bann to admonish or Put away Such as may appear Most to the Glory of God